Stevie Woods:author of gay romantic fiction

November 25, 2012

Roll of the Dice 25% excerpt – and a Giveaway!

It’s Sunday and therefore time for another 25% excerpt! Today it’s from my popular contemporary short story, ROLL OF THE DICE, and I’ve also decided to offer a free copy of the book to one lucky winner! Just send me an email to stevie@steviewoods.com with the name of Matt’s favorite drink!

I entered the bar and looked around. I had done a fair bit of on-line research and picked this place because I liked the name and it had been here for a while, whereas some of the other queer-friendly places seemed to come and go. The Orange Hanky wasn’t exactly what I’d been expecting; it was quieter and more subdued, and I breathed a sigh of relief. I felt out of place as it was, but the atmosphere helped me relax.

There was a long bar with two bartenders, both of whom were busy serving customers. The seating at the counter was mostly full so I looked around and saw that, beyond the small central dance floor where a few couples were dancing, there were some booths along the back wall. I decided I would be more comfortable there where I could observe what was going on.

It was quite a few years since I had frequented a gay bar and I expected things had changed somewhat in the intervening years. Watching the men dancing together in each other’s arms was erotic, hands smoothing over backs and down to buttocks as they moved. I wanted to know what it would feel like to have a man’s hands on me again.

A waiter came over then to take my order and, as I lifted my eyes to look at him, he gave me a friendly smile. “First time here eh?” I nodded and he continued, “I thought so. I’d remember someone who looked like you.”

I flushed at the compliment — overheard comments were one thing but I was not used to flattery, not to my face certainly.

Distracted, I said something to him, but after he’d gone I couldn’t for the life of me say what it was. At least not until he returned a couple of minutes later with the whiskey and lime I must have unconsciously ordered.

Matt’s drink. I couldn’t escape from him even when I wanted to. Then the unbidden thought came, did I really want to? Wasn’t it that I still hoped he would change his mind? I brushed those painful thoughts away. Matt had given me his answer and I had chosen another path now.

As if in answer to that thought, a voice disturbed my reverie.

“Can I buy you another drink?”

I looked up to a see a man smiling at me. I had certainly never seen him before, and I allowed myself a few moments to study him before I answered. He obviously knew what I was doing as he stood calmly and returned my perusal.

“Okay,” I finally said returning his most attractive smile, “but I’ll have something different this time I think. Oh, and my name is Kyle.”

“Hi, pleased to meet you. I’m Alan. You don’t like that?” he asked, indicating my glass, as he slid into the seat opposite me.

“It’s not that. Let’s just say it has associations.”

“Ah, I see. Had a break up, is that it?” he asked sympathetically.

“No, more like couldn’t get past the starting gate.”

<end excerpt>

If you want to read the whole story, the book can be obtained from the following sources:

Amazon Kindle    All Romance eBooks    Smashwords

http://steviewoods.com

Return to Main page

3 Comments »

  1. Hmm.. sounds interesting. 😀 Please count me in.

    Judi
    arella3173_loveless@yahoo(dot)com

    Comment by arella3173 — November 26, 2012 @ 5:26 am

  2. Want to read more 🙂 Please count me in.

    Comment by Elle — November 26, 2012 @ 3:25 am

  3. Love the excerpt! Count me in please. Thanks!

    Comment by Giselle — November 25, 2012 @ 5:49 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

