Stevie Woods:author of gay romantic fiction

June 8, 2010

I’ve been interviewed!

Filed under: writing — Stevie Woods @ 10:15 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I was interviewed by 1Romance eBooks – have a look and perhaps learn something new about me and my writing!

Stevie Woods, Author of Gay Romantic Fiction

Hi, I’m Stevie Woods, author of gay romantic fiction. I have several novels released, as well as about a dozen shorter works, published by Torquere Press, Phaze Books and MLR Press.

What was your first sale as an author?
My first sale was actually my gay historical novel, CANE, which was originally accepted by Torquere Press. That was back in 2006, though actually it was not my first published work. That would be SMOKE SCREEN, an historical novelette that I submitted to Torquere in the flush of success over being published and it just happened they published that a month or so before CANE was released. CANE has since been re-issued in both print and ebook by Phaze Books.

Plotter or Pantser? Why?
I mostly write by the seat of my pants. I have tried to plot and plan my stories but it seems the characters don’t like to be restricted and want to go their own way! I have a general idea of where the story is going but how it actually gets there…

Do you have any suggestions for beginning writers? If so, what are they?
Yeah. All too often is heard ‘write what you know’. Well, hell for an historical writer that’s a bit difficult! I can write what I research which is as close I can get to ‘knowing’ what it was like to live during the Civil War or in Regency times. I’ve also written about vampires and ghosts and for that I need my imagination. No, my personal advice is “‘write what you love, what makes you passionate”.

Tell us about the absolute BEST fan letter you have received?
That would have to be a series of fan letters I received from an American guy praising my historical works, CANE, CONFLICT and BEYOND THE VEIL. First because he was very complimentary about the plotlines and the obvious passion between my heroes, secondly because he was a gay man who told me I knew how to write about the emotions and urges of gay men. Couldn’t get a better compliment.

Tell us about your current release.
My most recent release is ZIMAYA HEIGHTS, a fantasy adventure set in an imaginary world where a young man, Willem, sets off on an expedition to find his missing explorer father, accompanied by his father’s one time associate, Gant, who was a hero to the young Willem.

Tell us about your next release.
I’m not exactly sure which of these two upcoming releases is coming out first as I don’t have exact release dates yet. From MLR Press comes THE LOST TEMPLE, book two in my new contemporary series, The Tomcat Line, which follows Ian and Mac as they track down the clues from the artefact discovered in book one, THE HITCH-HIKER. Also due out shortly from Phaze Books as part of their Binary Stars line is THE HELIOTROPE, which contains a set of two short stories, THE PARTNERS and THE GUARDIAN.

Stevie

http://steviewoods.com


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

